The Music

The music of Holy Spirit was developed in teamwork. The style of the music followed the suggestions of director Mike Baran but there was enough freedom for the creative ideas of five different composers. The main score was written and arranged by Richard Dana Laughlin who also was the musical director of the studio recordings.


The composers

Richard Dana Laughlin


Music – Score
Richard Dana "Rich" Laughlin was born in Minneapolis/USA. His musical career began in this city, where styles such as classical music, jazz, rock and funk mixed. Rich started playing the trumpet at the age of 12. Early influences were the trumpeter/composer Don Ellis and pop star Prince, a classmate whose path crossed with that of Rich. He founded his first jazz rock formation and played in the big band of Lionel Hampton's former drummer John Stafford.
Later Rich became the solo trumpeter and arranger of a US Air Force Band, which brought him to Europe. After his military service he stayed in Munich, where he became one of the most sought-after trumpeters. He played with Charlie Antolini, the style-forming salsa band Conexion Latina, Al Porcino and the legendary trumpeter Benny Bailey, for whom he also composed and arranged. Rich has worked for various plays and musicals, e.g. at the Theater des Westens/Berlin, the Deutsches Theater/ Munich and in New York on Broadway. He accompanied live concerts by Ute Lemper, Caterina Valente, Milva and Mercedes Sosa. Rich composed the score for Holy Spirit, including "Requiem in White" and the adaptation of the opera finale of "Falstaff".
CD recordings: "Old World – New World", "Benny Bailey – I remember Love" and many more...
Current bands: Melting Point, Rich Laughlin Ensemble, Duo Vadana
Social & Contact:

Mani Gruber


Sound Design, Music
Mani Gruber is an original from Munich. In addition to his career as a sound engineer, he has also always worked as a musician, initially as the front man, singer and guitarist of the hard rock band "Boysvoice", later as a permanent member of the successful ABBA cover band "ABBA 99". In 2007 Mani founded the "Maniac Studios", an excellently equipped recording studio in which music productions of all kinds can be recorded. Compositions/arrangements, voice recordings and sound design are also part of Mani's program. Due to his many years of stage experience, Mani Gruber repeatedly made excursions into acting and took on smaller roles in musicals and short films.
Mani Gruber's Maniac Studios were the venue for most of Holy Spirit's recordings. Mani developed the complete sound design for the film, ensured clean voice recordings and mixed all audio tracks. He also composed and arranged several pieces of music such as the rock song "Screaming Heart".
Musicals: Rocky’s Crazy Horror Show, As Time Goes By
Social & Contact:

Werner Bauer


Composer, Singer
Werner Bauer worked for 25 years as an actor and singer on the theater stages of cities such as Hamburg, Berlin, Munich, Vienna and Zurich before changing to directing. His activities led to collaboration with Roman Polanski and Ralph Siegel, among others. He has appeared on stage in well-known plays and musicals, such as "Harry and Sally", "Dance of the Vampires", "Der Schuh des Manitu", "Titanic" and "Disney's Beauty and The Beast" and is represented as singer and songwriter on numerous CDs and DVDs.
For several years Werner Bauer has mainly worked as a director and writer. His productions include the musical "Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat" in Tecklenburg, endowed with awards and audience prizes, the world premiere of "Kopfstimme" and "Ein Stück vom Mond" at the Akademietheater at the Prinzregententheater in Munich. Werner Bauer also staged "Sugar - some like it hot" for the Thun Seespiele, as well as the world premiere of the musical "Luther, Rebell Gottes" at the Stadttheater Fürth. There he also staged Brecht's "Mutter Courage und ihre Kinder". Werner Bauer composed "Touch the Sky" for Holy Spirit and the final song "Holy Spirit", which he also interpreted himself.
Current production: "Monty Python's Spamalot" on the open-air stage Tecklenburg
Social & Contact:

Marcus Lee


Composer/Arranger
Marcus Lee studied both piano and classical composition at the Munich Conservatory. He runs his own music production company "ml-productions" and works with various singers worldwide, from New York and London to Jamaica. He composes and arranges, his trademark are cross-genre productions mainly from the areas of rap, trap, blues, jazz and soul.
Together with Jon Falke he composed and arranged several titles for Holy Spirit, including "Lacrimosa (The Abuse)", "Wonder Waltz" and "Bless my Tristesse", which he recorded in the recording studio "Jon Ton".
CD releases: "Introduction" (2018), "A New Beginning" (2019), "ShowDown" (2019)
Social & Contact:

Jon Falke


Composer/Arranger
Jon Falke has been playing keyboards since his youth and was an active musician in the rock band "S.N.O.B.". During this time his instrument was the synthesizer and he wrote his first arrangements. Today he owns a recording studio and has mainly focused on composing. Under his own label "Jon Ton Musik" he works as a singer/songwriter, whereby his special interest is the experimental compilation of new sounds and samples and he mixes different styles like jazz, rock, blues and rap.
In collaboration with Marcus Lee, Jon composed and arranged the titles "Lacrimosa (The Abuse)", "Wonder Waltz" and "Bless my Tristesse" for Holy Spirit. The titles were recorded by them together in the recording studio "Jon Ton".
CD release: "Are you talking to me?"
Social & Contact:

The performers

Matthias Kostya
Actor and singer

Matthias Kostya, who plays the leading role of Commissioner Lenz Stöger in "Holy Spirit", is a trained actor and musical performer. He was to be seen in many main musical roles, e.g. he already played "Death" in the musical "Elisabeth" in Vienna. For "Holy Spirit" he interpreted the rock song "Screaming Heart" composed by Mani Gruber.
Social & Contact:

Jenny Evans
Singer

Jenny Evans from England is one of the great all-round talents in show business. The jazz singer is - according to TIME Magazine: "... the leading female jazz singer in Germany." For "Holy Spirit" she sang a fascinating cover version of the song "The Silencers" by Vikki Carr, arranged by Richard Dana Laughlin.

Social & Contact:

Rickie Kinnen
Singer

Rickie Kinnen is an exceptional singer who has appeared in numerous TV and radio productions as well as CD recordings. She also lent her voice to many film characters as a singer and dubbing artist. For "Holy Spirit" Rickie interpreted the song "Touch the Sky", which was composed by Werner Bauer.
Social & Contact:

Stefanie Derner
Singer

Stefanie Derner is a versatile artist, whether on stage, in a recording studio or with a band. She played leading roles in musicals such as "Mamma Mia", "Footloose", "Die letzten 5 Jahre" or "Rent". You can also hear Stefanie's voice in commercials, radio plays, cartoon series and on CD productions. For Holy Spirit she sang the polyphonic "Angelic Choir".
Social & Contact:

The score musicians

Richard Dana Laughlin (trumpet, cornet, keyboards)
Mani Gruber (guitar, bass, vocals, keyboards)
Armin Woods (keyboards)
Achim Schroeter (saxophone, clarinet, flute) Lukas Jochner (trombone)
Fabian Beck (bass trombone)
Leo Gmelch (bass trombone)
Teresa Brunnmüller (bandoneón)
Jon Falke (keyboards, programming)
Marcus Lee (keyboards, programming)
Felix Bronner (piano)
Mani Gruber, Tom Schuster, Karin Lüders,
Sebastian Lumpe, Franziska Woell
(background vocals)


All music titles of the film (titles included in the official soundtrack are marked with *)



Links


Maniac Studios

Social & Contact:
ml-productions

Social & Contact:
Freibank Music Publishing

Social & Contact:
Sexteto Milonguero

Social & Contact:

Soundtrack ab Dez. 2019 auf allen Musikdiensten!


Die Musik

Die Filmmusik von Holy Spirit entstand in Teamwork. Der Stil der Musik richtete sich nach Vorschlägen von Regisseur Mike Baran, es gab jedoch viel Freiraum für die kreativen Ideen von fünf verschiedenen Komponisten. Den Haupt-Score schrieb und arrangierte Richard Dana Laughlin, der auch die musikalische Leitung bei den Studioaufnahmen übernahm.


Die Komponisten


Richard Dana Laughlin


Musik – Score
Richard Dana "Rich" Laughlin wurde in Minneapolis/USA geboren. Seine musikalische Laufbahn begann in dieser Stadt, wo sich Stilrichtungen wie Klassik, Jazz, Rock und Funk vermischten. Rich begann mit 12 Jahren Trompete zu spielen. Frühe Einflüsse waren der Trompeter/Komponist Don Ellis sowie Popstar Prince, ein Klassenkamerad, dessen Weg sich mit dem von Rich kreuzte. Er gründete seine erste Jazz-Rock-Formation und spielte in der Bigband von Lionel Hampton’s früherem Drummer John Stafford.
Später wurde Rich Solo-Trompeter und Arrangeur einer US Air Force Band, die ihn nach Europa brachte. Nach der Militärzeit blieb er in München, wo er einer der gefragtesten Trompeter wurde. Er spielte u. A. mit Charlie Antolini, der stilbildenden Salsa-Band Conexion Latina, Al Porcino und dem legendären Trompeter Benny Bailey, für den er auch komponierte und arrangierte. Rich arbeitete außerdem für verschiedene Theaterstücke und Musicals, z. B. am Theater des Westens/Berlin, im Deutschen Theater/ München und in New York am Broadway. Er begleitete Live-Konzerte von Ute Lemper, Caterina Valente, Milva und Mercedes Sosa.
CD-Aufnahmen: „Old World – New World“, „Benny Bailey – I remember Love“ und viele mehr ...
Aktuelle Bands: Melting Point, Rich Laughlin Ensemble, Duo Vadana
Social & Contact:

Mani Gruber


Sound Design, Musik
Mani Gruber ist ein Münchner Original. Er war neben seiner Laufbahn als Tontechniker auch immer als Musiker tätig, zunächst als Frontmann, Sänger und Gitarrist der Hardrock-Band „Boysvoice“, später als festes Mitglied der erfolgreichen ABBA-Coverband „ABBA 99“. Im Jahr 2007 gründete Mani die „Maniac Studios“, ein hervorragend ausgestattetes Tonstudio, in dem Musikproduktionen jeglicher Art aufgenommen werden können. Kompositionen/Arrangements, Sprachaufnahmen und Sounddesign gehören ebenfalls zu Manis Programm. Mani Gruber machte aufgrund seiner langjährigen Bühnenerfahrung immer wieder Ausflüge ins Schauspielfach und übernahm kleinere Rollen in Musicals und Kurzfilmen.
Im „Maniac Studio“ von Mani Gruber fanden die meisten Tonaufnahmen zu Holy Spirit statt. Für den Film entwickelte Mani das komplette Sounddesign, sorgte für saubere Sprachaufnahmen und mischte alle Tonspuren ab. Er komponierte und arrangierte zudem mehrere Musikstücke wie z. B. den Rocksong „Screaming Heart“.
Musicals: Rocky’s Crazy Horror Show, As Time Goes By
Social & Contact:

Werner Bauer


Komponist/Sänger
Werner Bauer arbeitete 25 Jahre lang als Schauspieler und Sänger auf den Theaterbühnen von Städten wie Hamburg, Berlin, München, Wien oder Zürich, bevor er ins Regiefach wechselte. Seine Tätigkeiten führten u. a. zur Zusammenarbeit mit Roman Polanski und Ralph Siegel. Er stand in bekannten Stücken und Musicals auf der Bühne, wie „Harry und Sally“, „Tanz der Vampire“, „Der Schuh des Manitu“, „Titanic“ und „Disney’s Die Schöne und das Biest“ und ist als Sänger und Songwriter auf zahlreichen CDs und DVDs vertreten.
Seit einigen Jahren arbeitet Werner Bauer vorwiegend als Regisseur und Autor. Zu seinen Inszenierungen zählen u. a. das mit Auszeichnungen und Publikumspreisen dotierte Musical „Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat“ in Tecklenburg, die mit der “tz-Rose” ausgezeichnete Uraufführung von „Kopfstimme“ und „Ein Stück vom Mond“ am Akademietheater im Prinzregententheater München. Außerdem brachte Werner Bauer „Sugar – manche mögen’s heiß“ für die Thuner Seespiele auf die Bühne, ebenso die Uraufführung des Musicals „Luther, Rebell Gottes“ am Stadttheater Fürth. Dort inszenierte er auch Brechts „Mutter Courage und ihre Kinder“.
Aktuelle Produktion: „Monty Python’s Spamalot“ auf der Freilichtbühne Tecklenburg
Social & Contact:

Marcus Lee


Komponist/Arrangeur
Marcus Lee hat sowohl Klavier als auch klassische Kompositionslehre am Konservatorium in München studiert. Er betreibt seine eigene Musikproduktionsfirma "ml-productions" und arbeitet mit verschiedenen Sänger/innen weltweit, von New York und London bis nach Jamaika. Er komponiert und arrangiert, sein Markenzeichen sind dabei Genre-übergreifende Produktionen vorwiegend aus den Bereichen Rap, Trap, Blues, Jazz und Soul.
Für Holy Spirit komponierte und arrangierte er zusammen mit Jon Falke mehrere Titel wie "Lacrimosa (The Abuse)", "Wonder Waltz" und "Bless my Tristesse", deren Aufnahme im Tonstudio er begleitete.
CD-Releases: "Introduction" (2018), "A New Beginning" (2019), "ShowDown" (2019), "Sorry" (2019)
Social & Contact:

Jon Falke


Komponist/Arrangeur
Jon Falke spielt seit seiner Jugend Keyboards und war aktiver Musiker in der Rockband „Snob“. In dieser Zeit war sein Instrument der Synthesizer und er schrieb seine ersten Arrangements. Heute besitzt er ein Tonstudio und hat sich vorwiegend auf das Komponieren verlegt. Unter seinem eigenen Label „Jon Ton Musik“ arbeitet er als Singer/Songwriter, wobei sein besonderes Interesse dem experimentellen Zusammenstellen von neuen Sounds und Samples gilt und er verschiedenste Stile wie Jazz, Rock, Blues und Rap miteinander mischt.
In Zusammenarbeit mit Marcus Lee komponierte und arrangierte er für Holy Spirit unter anderem die Titel "Lacrimosa (The Abuse)", "Wonder Waltz" und "Bless my Tristesse". Die Titel wurden von ihnen gemeinsam im Tonstudio „Jon Ton“ eingespielt.
CD-Release: „Are you talking to me?“
Social & Contact:

Die Interpreten


Matthias Kostya
Schauspieler und Sänger

Matthias Kostya, der in "Holy Spirit" die Hauptrolle des Kommissars Lenz Stöger spielt, ist ausgebildeter Schauspieler und Musicaldarsteller. Er war in vielen Musical-Hauptrollen zu sehen, z. B. spielte er in Wien bereits den "Tod" im Musical "Elisabeth". Für "Holy Spirit" interpretierte er den von Mani Gruber komponierten Rocksong "Screaming Heart".
Social & Contact:

Jenny Evans
Sängerin

Die Engländerin Jenny Evans zählt zu den großen Allround-Talenten im Showbusiness. Die Jazzsängerin ist - laut TIME Magazine: "... the leading female jazz singer in Germany.“ Für "Holy Spirit" sang sie eine faszinierende Coverversion des Songs "The Silencers" von Vikki Carr, arrangiert von Richard Dana Laughlin.

Social & Contact:

Rickie Kinnen
Sängerin

Rickie Kinnen ist eine außergewöhnliche Sängerin, die schon bei zahlreichen TV-und Radioproduktionen sowie CD-Aufnahmen mitgewirkt hat. Sie lieh außerdem vielen Filmfiguren ihre Stimme als Sängerin und Synchronsprecherin. Für "Holy Spirit" interpretierte Rickie den Song "Touch the Sky For You", der von Werner Bauer komponiert wurde.
Social & Contact:

Stefanie Derner
Sängerin

Stefanie Derner ist eine vielseitige Künstlerin, ob auf der Bühne, im Tonstudio oder mit Band. Sie spielte Hauptrollen in Musicals wie „Mamma Mia“, „Footloose“, „Die letzten 5 Jahre“ oder „Rent“. Man hört Stefanies Stimme aber auch in der Werbung, in Hörspielen, Zeichentrickserien und auf CD-Produktionen. Für Holy Spirit sang sie den vielstimmigen „Engelschor“.
Social & Contact:

Die Score Musiker


Richard Dana Laughlin (trumpet, cornet, keyboards)
Mani Gruber (guitar, bass, vocals, keyboards)
Armin Woods (keyboards)
Achim Schroeter (saxophone, clarinet, flute) Lukas Jochner (trombone)
Fabian Beck (bass trombone)
Leo Gmelch (bass trombone)
Teresa Brunnmüller (bandoneón)
Jon Falke (keyboards, programming)
Marcus Lee (keyboards, programming)
Felix Bronner (piano)
Mani Gruber, Tom Schuster, Karin Lüders,
Sebastian Lumpe, Franziska Woell
(background vocals)


Alle Musiktitel des Films (im offiziellen Soundtrack enthaltene Titel sind mit * gekennzeichnet)



Links


Maniac Studios

Social & Contact:
ml-productions

Social & Contact:
Freibank Music Publishing

Social & Contact:
Sexteto Milonguero

Social & Contact: